JUDGing panel


Nick Mitzevich

Director (incoming), National Gallery of Australia


Aimee Frodsham

Artistic Director, Canberra Glassworks

Aimee Frodsham began her career as an art handler after graduating from the Glass Department at the Canberra School of Art in 1999. After working on projects such as the installation of the National Museum of Australia and Anzac Hall, Aimee moved to London to work at the V&A and followed by Tate Gallery where she worked as Planning Manager across four of Tate’s gallery sites. Since returning to Australia in 2015, Aimee has renewed her passion for glass as Program Director at the Canberra Glassworks, before moving to Parliament House to take up the position of Program Manager for the Parliament House Art Collection. Aimee has curated a number of successful exhibitions including 2016 Hindmarsh Prize, Meeting Place - Michael Nelson Jagamara and Imants Tillers and Design in a Decade the 1980’s. She has recently been appointed Artistic Director at the Canberra Glassworks.


Eva Czernis-Ryl

Curator, Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences

Eva is a design historian, author and award-winning curator of decorative arts and design at the Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences in Sydney. She has published and curated exhibitions in areas ranging from 18th century porcelain and Australian colonial gold, to Italian design and Australian and international studio glass, metalwork, textiles and jewellery. 

Eva was co-curator of Inspired! Design Across Time. Among major exhibitions she curated were Contemporary Silver: Made In Italy' and the critically acclaimed A Fine Possession: Jewellery and Identity. Eva has particular interest in revealing connections between the allied fields of decorative and fine arts, design, craft, science and technology.